TSA precheck... Anyone turned down?

focusondisney

DIS Veteran
DH & I had our interviews at the same time on June 8th. His KTN was showing by the 11th, 3 days later. He got his letter today. It's now 10 days later, mine still shows as under review! I'm getting nervous, lol! I wonder if they're having trouble with my fingerprints. I'm a nurse; we use
fingerprints to access our narcotic dispenser. I usually have to use the backup method because it won't read my prints. I also know a few other coworkers who have needed official fingerprints for some other stuff. They have all had issues & needed multiple repeat prints taken. They have been told this is pretty common for health care workers due to frequent hand washing or repeated computer work which can both sort of wear away your prints. I was actually surprised the interviewer just took the 1 set.

So has anyone had any issues with getting their precheck approval? Anyone taken longer than 10 days for their approval to show up on the website?? I'm just trying to anticipate what I can expect next. Thanks!!

I'm a fingerprint tech and I see prints that get rejected all the time. And unfortunately that can really slow things down when it comes to processing things like precheck and other background checks. If poor quality prints is your problem you should get a letter in the mail soon saying you need to go try again. I know they aren't supposed to speculate on whether or not your prints will pass but you can always tell them ahead of time that you usually have issues with your prints and they might try to get better image(though they SHOULD be getting the best one possible anyways!)

DH took 2 weeks to process and post a KTN (mine was 2 days in comparison, with interviews on the same day.) He did have some issues getting one of his hands to fingerprint clearly. He's also a dual citizen, so I wondered if that took some processing time as well.