Swap an appetizer for a kid's meal?

goofygal531

Always planning...
I'm a travel agent and have a client going to WDW for the first time with her family in August on the free dining package. My client asked me if it was possible to swap one adult appetizer for a kid's meal at dinner. She has a 2 year old who's not a paying guest. I advised her the 2 year old can eat for free at the buffets but elsewhere she'd have to pay for his meal.

I don't know if swapping meals is possible, I know it's not "according to the rules of the plan". But has anyone been able to fudge things like this? I told her it all depends on her server. I'm not encouraging her do this, I told her from day one she's going to have to pay for her 2 year old's meals.

And I'm not getting any ideas for myself if that's what you think - my DH does not like the meal plan. :)

Just curious if anyone's ever done this.

Children under 2 are allowed to also eat for free at non buffet restaurants. They just have to share off someone elses plate. So, it would be allowed to share the appetizer and make it the "meal".

Copied from allears:

Children under 3 do not need to purchase the plan. At table service restaurants, there is no charge for children under 3 who share from an adult's plate. However, if you order from a menu for a child under 3, you will be charged the menu price. At buffet and "all-you-care-to-eat" restaurants, there is also no charge for children under 3 who share from an adult's plate. However, if you order from a separate children's or ala carte menu for a child under 3 (rather than eating from the buffet or all-you-care-to-eat offerings), you will be charged the price reflected on the menu. At counter service restaurants, you will be charged the menu price if you order a meal for a child under 3.