Julie, John and Joshua go to Florida: pre-trip - update post49

JulieSharp

Joshua will always be my 'little boy'
Hi,

Firstly I would like to explain I am a total novice not only at trip reports but also a newcomer at posting on the DIS, so I don't have high
expectations at the quality of this thread. :)
My husband (you know him as johnnysharp2), has over 6,000 posts to his credit but for various reasons, he will not like me for saying this, has decided to retire with honour from the DIS and thereby handed the reigns over to me..gulp! (he has helped me a bit with the photos).

I have read a few trip reports recently and feel like I would like to share our plans with you all.

Anyway here goes....this is a pre-trip report for our forthcoming holiday this April.
We have been to Florida I think 14 times now, our first holiday being our honeymoon in 1990, so long ago, we have been hooked ever since and been fortunate to have travelled all around the Sunshine State from as far apart as Sarasota to the Keys, from elegant Naples to vibrant Miami.
There are not many places we haven't been to.

Since our son was born he is now 12, our plans and ideas have changed as he has got older. Somehow now moving away from Orlando doesn't seem quite right.
Therefore we don't travel around the state as much as we used to, and to be honest in a way as much as we would like to. Pic from his 1st trip below:

joshuas1997a-1.jpg

Over recent years we have found our holidays, maybe Orlando in particular has become slightly over-familiar, I suppose there are many reasons for this, including perhaps the number of times we have now been.
As I am sure John (you didn't really believe his 'real name' was Johnny did you?) has explained our son Joshua has Autism , something that was diagnosed several years ago. He is also unable to talk.