Beyond Recovery: Christin's journal of progress (comments welcome)

rcyannacci

<font color="purple">A Feminist Princess...tiaras
Hi! I'm Christin, and I'm new to the WISH board as of this January (2005), likely inspired by some acquaintances over on the community board and looking forward to getting to know some of you here.

My goal (something I'm continually making myself acknowledge): Healthier lifestyle rather than just weight-loss.

Some background: I've probably been aware of my weight and body as something to fight against since I was 12. Not that my mother intended to make me anxiety-ridden, but since she was herself, I guess it was inevitable. I've been addicted to sugar since I was little, and it's still the first thing I head for when I've had a long or bad day. (I'm particuarly good at justifying this ;) )

Speed up to last year: 2004 was terrible. It started in January when I found a very small tumor on the right side of my jaw, and went through a lengthy diagnosis process (including a surgery). I was lucky in that I only had a low grade malignancy and caught it early. By March I was in for daily radiation treatments to my head and neck which took away my taste and left me with a wicked sore throat. I lost 8 pounds (likely all muscle) and recuperated all summer. When my taste finally returned, my stomach had shrunk and I ate less...but I ate whatever I wanted.

Now that I'm completely clear, I'm ready for a lifestyle change that takes off the pounds initially (but not rapidly), and then I'll settle in to healthy maintanence.

What I've done so far: I joined Curves and have worked out 4-5 days a week for a little over a month. I lost 5 inches and 8 pounds of body fat, but haven't lost any "weight" (hopefully, I built back the muscle I lost).

Also, I've started bit by bit to cut out the sugar. The more I cut, the more I realize how addicted I am. Hopefully, this will make me more motivated to keep cutting!!!