Service Dog?

OneLittleSpark

A Michaelmusophobia Sufferer (please don't hate me
Hi everyone, I need some advice, and thought this might be the place to get it. I'm considering applying for a service dog, and wanted to 'talk it through' with all you lovely DISers who have SDs. I think that a dog would make a huge difference to my life, but I'm worried about whether I would be able to give them all the care they needed and deserved.

OK, quick background on me, for those who don't know. I've had Fibromyalgia for about four years now, which comes with all the fun of constant pain, weakness and extremely low energy levels :rolleyes:. I use a wheelchair outside the house, and walking aids at home. I just about manage to get through a full week at work (thankfully, I studied a subject which allows me to work a sedentary desk job), but that's pretty much all I can handle. I've got pretty much no social life to speak of; rely heavily on my partner to manage all the household chores; and can't even pop out to the shops, less than a minute away, on my own. I feel like my life and independence are slowly being eroded away.

I think that having a SD to help me with the day-to-day tasks of life, that I used to take for granted (picking things up, opening doors, etc), would make a real difference to my energy and pain levels. I also have fairly poor balance when I'm walking, and have narrowly missed a number of nasty falls, when my head suddenly forgets which way is up.

Also, my partner is currently looking for a job (he graduated a few months ago, but this isn't the easiest time for anyone to find work :sad2:). At the moment, he is at home most of the day, so can handle the cleaning, shopping, cooking, washing up, laundry etc, but I can't expect him to continue doing all this once he gets a job. He says he'll be able to manage it, but I don't think he will, especially as starting a new job is always tiring. Besides, I wouldn't feel right asking so much of him.