Is Express Pass Worth It on a 4/10 Crowd Level Prediction Day?

TheMaxRebo

DIS Veteran
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to Universal (last time I was there was 2000 - I hear they have a couple of new things since the ;) ) so trying to understand how to properly value Express Pass. Want to make the most of our limited time, but also don't want to "waste" $

In short:

The date we are looking at is August 29th with is rated as a "low crowd" day and 4/10 for both Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure - so basically wondering if a 4/10 day means rather low lines and really no benefit to Express Pass or will it still be really helpful if trying to do both parks in one day (but knowing outside of Harry Potter stuff, nothing else is a "must do")

More details for those interested:

For our upcoming trip to the area we were going to take one day that my wife and oldest daughter (9) would do Universal as her birthday present for this year as she is now really into Harry Potter - and that is largely the only (or at least by far main) thing that interests her and thus is the focus. I will do another date at Disney with my younger two as we just can't justify the cost of a 1 day park-to-park for them as too short to ride most of the rides

The plan was to get them a room at Cabana Bay so they would have early park admission and be right there and get a full day in. We recently found out that my sister in law and her husband will also be in the area and now want to join them - so going from 2 people to 4

In looking at prices, Cabana Bay is $164 for the night but could upgrade to Royal Pacific for $319

So $155 for just 2 Express Passes (so $77.5 each) feels expensive if not really, really worth it ... but for four, not it is $38.75/person feels a bit better ... but again, if not a lot of value rather save the $

Thanks, and sorry for the long post

Just depends on your budget. That really does mean lower crowds, but the popular attractions should still be at half hour +.