Was closing DVC Resorts Legal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TisBit

DIS Veteran
I know there are a couple of similar topics to this, about why they closed resorts. I understand the perception of why they closed the resorts and that it would also protect cast members. The hotels, it makes perfect sense, but for DVC isn't it WAY more complicated and possibly a breach of contract. I am not a timeshare expert and I am sure there have been emergency closures in the timeshare industry with some type of impact, so I would love to hear how that is typically handled. But my thoughts on the legality of DVC voluntary closing the resorts:

1. The contract specifically unlinks the resorts and timeshares from the parks. The fact that the parks closed is not a reason any owner could say they were deprived of their room, points or fixed week. If they chose to cancel, it is on them. DVC's decision shifts the liability to DVC.

2. If the number of points in a year is to book all rooms for that year (plus breakage, etc) and now DVC has taken all rooms out of service for three weeks minimum, there is an excess of points in 2020 and there is not enough capacity of rooms to allow all owners to use their points. How do you compensate or know who these owners are or alleviate this burden. DVC has even acknowledged this by saying they cannot give excess points back to a specific year without causing a ripple effect of availability.

3. Banking, borrowing offsets years equally (as the room is now available in one year versus another year), trading to RCI gives RCI rooms to trade in for. The only place that I see there is a chance to "right" the ship is that points traded to Disney Collection and Cruises are then converted to cash rooms. Disney could theoretically give those rooms back, but is there enough points in a year to offset this full closure? And how does than affect the dues for members, as these cash rooms profits came back into the DVC accounts to offset expenses.