Tax Filing Software - What's Your Fav?

mmbrad02

DIS Veteran
Disclaimer - I'm a bachelor degree holding Accountant and I don't do my own taxes. There, I said it. For what it's worth, I work in manufacturing accounting and I do not deal with taxes during my 8-5 job, so I don't stay up to date on all the in's and out's of it. Even in college, Personal Tax and Corporate Tax were my least favorite classes.

That said, It's time that I do my own :) My husband and I have been married for 22 years, 1 child, and our taxes are so simple it's silly that I don't do them. We have a mortgage, a few 1099's, some church tithes, and that's about it. I Just don't like to worry about them honestly, and I've always had what I consider a very affordable tax guy do them. But the thing is, he is in my hometown (3 hours from where we live now) and he isn't getting any younger. Taxes are his retirement job, to start with. So I've decided this year is the year.

Once upon a time, like in 2004 or something, I did do our taxes one year. I used Turbotax that year and it seemed to go fine. However, back then my tax guy was almost as cheap as the software so I just decided not to continue doing them myself. However, we have increased our documents and he has increased his prices too.

So that's a lot of information to say - what's your preferred software to use? I saw Amazon has Turbotax Deluxe + State for $44.99. My supervisor highly touts Tax Act. And Google has led me to names such as Cash App Tax, Tax Slayer, and Free TaxUSA.

And obviously with Amazon I would be paying for the product up front - for all the othes do you pay when you start your taxes or do you pay when you submit/file?

We have used FreeTaxUSA for years, and never had any problem. Federal is free, state filing is $14.99. They claim to have 24/7 assistance but we've never used them. Every year it fills in pertinent info and we just have to add in the figures for this year, and click a lot of boxes.