Resin/Epoxy? for photo charms

Falltime

Mouseketeer
I bought some photo charms the other day and want to make a charm bracelet. There is no glass covering on the charms and from looking at ones on ebay people say they put resin or epoxy over the pictures. I have never used resin/epoxy before... is resin/epoxy the same thing? and also what's a good brand to buy? does it dry to hard surface? is there a problem with bubbles?

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

You can buy the resin epoxy at Hobby Lobby's, Michaels etc. They are normally referred to as 2 part epoxy resins because you have to mix part A and then part B and it has a chemical reaction that will make it hard. I have only mixed them in disposable paper products to make sure I don't ruin anything. What I can tell you I don't like is the kit that comes with the melting pot heating element that you can buy at craft stores. The Melting Pot itself is OK - but the plastic crystal stuff dries really yellow.

Hope this helps - I am looking forward to hearing other peoples responses and maybe getting some more professional tips!

I have made several photo bracelets and I use a liquid called Glossy Accents. It's made by the Ranger Ink Co. and can usually be found with the stamping/scrapbooking supplies. It comes in a 2 oz. bottle. I bought mine at Hobby Lobby, but have seen it at Michaels and Archivers (the scrapbook store).

The liquid comes out clear and then dries to a very hard, clear, glossy finish... it's perfect for putting over photos b/c it stays clear and doesn't yellow. It's also very easy to use b/c there is no mixing involved like with some epoxies.

There is another liquid out there called Diamond Glaze, but I have found that it is harder to find in stores.

Does Glossy Accents or Diamond Glaze get all those air bubbles when you pour it on?