Nike+ Sportwatch GPS vs. Garmin Forerunner 10

LittleMissGiggles89

Former Cast Member & Disney Fanatic
I'm relatively new to running (W&D will be my first half and first runDisney race :cool1:) and am in the market for a GPS watch. It seems that the Nike+ Sportwatch and Garmin Forerunner are the 2 most popular models at a moderate price point. I'm looking for feedback on those who own and use them and why you prefer it. I currently use Nike+ on my iphone to track my runs so should I stick with Nike, or is the Forerunner a better product?

I think at this price point it’s a matter or personal preference. Which one would you wear?

They both
  • Use GPS to track the runner's speed and path (TomTom on the Nike; Garmin uses its own technology).
  • Keep track of historical 'bests' and summaries of the most recent few runs.
  • Function as a 'normal' wristwatch
  • Use their own website to store uploaded data.
  • Plot any stored trip on a digital map

The largest differences are
  • The Nike weighs about 50% more (62g vs 40g)
  • The Nike seems to have a longer battery life
  • The Garmin uses a cradle to recharge and transfer data while Nike uses a regular USB. (I have found that the regular USB connection corrodes rather quickly over the life of the unit BUT one usually has a USB cord on a trip. Forget the cradle and SOL).
  • They both offer pacing Nike through the AP and Garmin on the unit.
The largest omission on the Garmin 10 is the ability to use the Garmin footpod. Nike will allow the use of their footpod. Not a huge miss on Garmin's effort, unless you run a treadmill.

In general, they are relatively equal

I use a nike + and most of the people that I run with use Garmins. I bought the Nike because I was using other nike + products and wanted to keep a consistent record of all my milage.