• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

New Year's Eve at WDW Tips & Tricks

godders

DIS Veteran
Going to be in California for Christmas with the family and didn't fancy the boring domestic NYE that was in my future so I'm treating myself to Disney and turns out it was cheaper to fly across country and head to WDW for New Years than spend it at Disneyland....

Flying into Orlando via Miami landing 8.30am ( 🤞) on 29th Dec and leaving evening of 3rd.

Staying at Pop and got my park passes for MK on 30th and Epcot 31st so I can catch both sets of fireworks. Going to book a sit-down meal each day to give a bit of a time out from the crowds.

This is my first time doing a Disney NYE so not sure what to expect other than crowds.....

So Disboard collective mind..what are you best tips for an enjoyable trip at the most busiest time of year...?

Epcot has huge dance parties in each country to celebrate the New Year.
I would want to be in China probably!
I think they celebrate according to true time for each country…
but have not experienced NYE Epcot style !
Hope it’s happy !

My biggest advice for NYE is to avoid being on the roads heading to a park in the early afternoon - since you've got the skyliner and an Epcot pass that checks that box!

Aside from that, my best advice is to just be patient, expect crowds, and have fun! Epcot is crazy on NYE, the energy is something else. In our experience, Epcot starts getting really busy around 430 - 5pm, but some people get there and set up blankets in the grassy areas pretty early in the day. There's something about that 430 - 5pm timeframe, you can feel the energy shift from "regular day" to "something is happening".