Just made these shirts

disney-akj

DIS Veteran
IMG_6816.jpg

IMG_6818.jpg

I am a teacher and at school we had a teacher that had her class make tie dye shirts with sharpie markers. I am awful at making tie dye shirts the traditional way, and the ease of tie dying with sharpies seemed too good to be true. So I got to thinking and did a google search for "mickey sharpie tie dye" to see if any one else had the same idea as me. I found a few blogs and videos that talked about tie dying with sharpie markers. I followed a lot of their hints and did a few things a little different. I will list what I did below. So easy and the info I found on-line was helpful. So I recommend doing the google search because some of the pictures are more helpful if you plan on making these :goodvibes

Materials: Pre-washed shirts, rubber bands, various sizes of bowls/cups(for mickey's head and ears), eye dropper (or syringe), rubbing alcohol, permanent markers (I bought the bic brand because it was a lot cheaper than sharpie, and my kids liked the colors better so what was a mother to do :goodvibes)

Step 1: Place a piece of wax paper or a plastic grocery sack in the middle of shirt so the marker dye doesn't bleed through.

Step 2: Place the larger bowl in the center of the shirt (top layer only) and rubber band around it to hold the shirt still

Step 3: Place dashes of various colors of the marker around the rim of the bowl. We did make our dashes touch and didn't make them too big. We did color patterns, it is up to you what you do. (We used a lot of green too because these are for St. Patrick's Day)

Step 4: Fill the eye dropper (we switched to a larger medical syringe for medicine that we had because it went quicker) with rubbing alcohol and put it on the marker. I just tried to squirt the alcohol evenly, but I did not take the time to count each drop etc. The alcohol just naturally seemed to spread evenly on the cloth. The more alcohol you use the more it spreads.