Fifth Time's the Fastest... Week Three 11/2

mrsxsparrow

DIS Veteran
Contents in post #3

Hi! My name is Nicole and I'm new to the WISH boards. I'll admit to be a lurker though... I've found inspiration lurking around these boards before. I figured now is the time to start my own WISH journal.

A Little Bit About Me
I'm 23 years old and in my last year of college in Southern California. I've had some personal issues the past few years, which is why college has taken me longer than it should have. I also moved back home a few years ago and currently live with my mom, stepdad, and brother. We have a nice family though and I'm pretty happy here. But this year is the year I get my life back on track.

I've had a weight problem for as long as I can remember. The summer before sixth grade I started Weight Watchers with my mom. I lost 50 pounds that year, which, for someone who was about 5 feet tall, was a LOT. I went from wearing boy's husky jeans to wearing a girl's size 0.

I slowly gained weight throughout high school, but nothing major. When I graduated, I was overweight, but not by a lot. I felt normal.

Then college hit, as did the personal problems I alluded to earlier. Now I'm 110 pounds heavier than I'd like to be. But if all goes as planned (or rather, WHEN :goodvibes) I won't stay that way for long.

What's with the title?
Fifth time's the fastest. In the past three years I've walked several 5k's and four half marathons (all of the Disney -- three Disneyland halves and one WDW half). Each half took me a little longer than the last one did. This is NOT the pattern that I should be following! I just started training for the Tinkerbell half in January, and I plan to make this the first time I finish in the official time limit (3 and 1/2 hours).

Why now?