Ei$ner now has a DEADline !

I'm no engineer, but I don't know how whole fresh water lakes as large as these could be treated effectively as the problem isn't specificaly pollution but rather a natural production of bacteria that forms in extremely high temps...

As for Hariss, threw her name out with Weis becaus it seems like both do "get it."

Based on your comments and those of Sara (DL update) it sounds as though folks are unhappy with DL? We were thrilled and saw no real problems (other than the Carousel was missing) -Granted my rose colored glasses were firmly in place...
:smooth: :smooth: :bounce: :smooth: :smooth:

Rude CMs and deferred maintainence. When I went, I saw that the buildings in Fantasyland were literally falling apart.

Actually the bigger problem is good old simple pollution. Walt Disney World is no longer this small little resort stuck way off in the middle of rural Central Florida. WDW now has the population of a good sized city most days (well over 150,000 employees and guests) and is surrounded by blooming suburban sprawl. What once were nice lakes in the middle of the wetlands have now become ponds in the middle of a city.

Imagine all the oil and pollutants that spew out of all those cars, boats and busses that ply the property. Imagine all the stuff that 100,000 guests toss into the lakes, streams, ponds and waterways every day. Imagine all the runoff of pesticides, herbicides, paint, dirt, grease, oil, solvents, etc. that finds its way into the WDW water system. These are big city problems.

And even the bacteria levels are linked. They are linked directly to all the industrial and agriculture runoff that’s been increasing dramatically in Florida over the last twenty years. There’s a price to pay for growth – and in this case it’s closed beaches. Instead of cleaning all that water, it’s cheaper to build pools and chlorinate just a little bit.