Changing Vacation Dates due to Irma impact (add your story if you want)

peabody58

I'm just a drummer in a R&R Band!!
DW and I have plans to drive down from Atlanta area to visit Brother/SIL in Polk City, FL 9/15 and then stay 5 nights at Cabana Bay starting Sunday 9/17. Our UT 3 day P/P US/IOA tickets expire 11/21/17. So with the pending Irma impact, we are on the fence as whether or not to change our vacation dates.

We have until the end of Monday 9/11 to cancel our Sept CB reservations. As a pre-emptive Plan B, I just snagged CB reservations for 11/5 - 11/10 for only $87 more. Hoping we still won't need Express Pass, but if we do, we'll deal with that later. No rooms were available (at an affordable rate) in the premium resorts.

We are concerned about 16 mln people trying to return at the same time we are arriving, and the additional strain on local resources. As we are driving down from the Atlanta area, I already know it will take 11 - 12 hrs (normally 5-6 hrs) with the returning traffic and shortages of gas are a concern. I'm also concerned about how much damage will be done and re-booking to Nov will give time for some return to normalcy. I'll be closely watching through Monday before we make a final decision.

Update 9/9 11:30: We decided to pull the plug and cancel our 9/17 reservation. Just not worth the stress of worrying about all the uncertainties. We'll have fun in Nov for sure.

Last edited:
Hi I am glad to hear that you made a decision and are happy with it. I agree who needs stress like that before a vacation. I would have done the same thing.

We had to cancel our 9/10-15 stay at SSR due to Irma and there is nothing available through DVC there until March. We were crushed. However we had planned a May trip to Universal so DH suggested we flip flop and do USO in November and SSR in May.