"best" carry-on luggage

TaylorEar

Mouseketeer
I want to get my DH a new piece of carry-on luggage for christmas. He travels a LOT both domestically and internationally. He currently uses a Red Ox Air Boss and loves the capacity but has recently mentioned that he wishes he had something that rolled (it's a LONG walk through London Heathrow! :faint:)

I've looked at the ebags 21'' mother load mini and the 22'' expandable carry-on... I have very little experience with good carry-on's as I usually pay to check my bags.

Thoughts? What kind of wheeled carry-on's do you recommend? What kind of features are important (spinners vs. 2-wheels, weight, compartments?)

I personally dislike spinners. The wheels take up too much space and are too easily broken.

You need to carefully check the carry-on dimensions for your husband's usual airline and make sure the new bag will fit. A bag which will be used on international airlines usually needs to be a bit smaller than one for US airlines. Bags which fit dimensions of foreign carriers often use "international" in the bag name.

Look for a bag with a good warranty. I have a Tumi international bag which was damaged twice and completely destroyed when I checked it within a year of purchase. I got it repaired for free twice, then replaced for free. You might want to look at Briggs & Riley bags; repairs are free forever. They are expensive, but for a real road warrior, it would be worth it.

I prefer a soft (framed) carry on rather than the currently popular hard sided cases. Hard sides are more durable, but they are heavier (which can be a problem in Europe where many airlines have carry on weight restrictions), and sometimes do not fit in the overhead or definitely don't fit under the seat.

Spinner wheels are easier to maneuver but as someone pointed out, if you have to check it, the wheels are more likely to get damaged as they are not recessed into the case.