51 Marathons, 50 States + DC ((71 Days til #4 NOLA)) -- Comments Welcome!

gotrojansgo

Mouseketeer
I've always been a big thoughts kind of guy. You know, you lay around, thinking about all the great things you could do in life, but then you never really follow through with them. Not going to lie, I'm also a lazy kind of guy, so I can say that follow through has never really been my strong point.

However, I'm proud to say that I'm starting a new chapter in my life. It's been almost 10 years since I stopped skating, so I figure now is a better time than never to take up a new athletic hobby: running. And what better way to set goals for running than running a marathon, right?

But, per usual, one marathon just isn't enough. I started reading about more, I started training, and now I'm hooked. Absolutely hooked. I love the thrill of race day, I love the idea of racing against the clock and I'm addicted to thinking of ways on how to best my previous time.

Now, this goal is finally coming true. It's finally done! I've got the finalized list of marathons that I will be running over the next several years to accomplish one of my ultimate life goals: 50 states plus DC, 51 marathons.

This is for everyone who wanted to do something but were told that they couldn't. This is for everyone who thought they weren't good enough for someone or something when, really, they were. This is for everyone who never had a dream come true because a thing called "life" got in the way. When I stopped skating, I never thought that I would accomplish anything athletically in my life again. But now, I'm out to prove myself wrong, and I hope you can all enjoy the journey with me.

51Marathons-4.jpg

Completed

1. Walt Disney World Marathon, Orlando, Florida (1/9/11) :: 04:39:36

2. Los Angeles Marathon, Los Angeles, California (3/20/11) :: 04:34:31

- Disneyland Half Marathon, Anaheim, CA (9/4/11) :: 1:59:41

3. Twin Cities Medtronic Marathon, Minneapolis, Minnesota (10/2/11) :: 04:41:18