Would love some advice about where to try to stay

MomToGandB

Earning My Ears
Hi there.

I am a Disney newbie. I am hoping to go to Disney with my family (me, my husband, my sister and two kids -- 2 and 4) in early December. Some folks on the resort board suggested we try to rent points because we want a 2 bedroom place. So, I'm about to embark on that process (and I know I may be too late for some places) but am still conflicted about what resort to try for.

I realized a few days ago that most of the fireworks/light shows are pretty late, even in December. So, the opportunity for my kids to see them once or twice will likely have to come from an in-room viewing or on-site viewing -- 10pm and then a trek back for 30 minutes will just be untenable. My research seems to have narrowed it down to BLT, Wild Kingdom or VGF. Am I missing any others where we could potentially see Wishes or the water pageant? If those are the only ones, what types of views do I need to request? Can I even make those requests as a point renter? In particular, at Wild Kingdom, there doesn't seem to be the opportunity to choose a room view.

Any help would be most appreciated. I apologize in advance for the newbie nature of this question -- it's just so hard to figure this out with all the options and the wealth of information out there!

Thank you!

One other point -- if it's going to be useless (from your experience) trying to get a 2 and 4 year old to stay up for 10pm fireworks, I'm open to other non-fireworks resorts. AKL seems really cool too, and perhaps they'd enjoy seeing the animals more.