Why 180?

glvsav37

DIS Veteran
this may have been discussed before, but why did they pick the 180 day mark for booking dining? It just seems so far away from your trip and realistically, if you are picking your dining locations, you are pretty much drafting your daily itinerary at the same time.

But to add to the issue, WDW will release special events a few weeks in advance and in order to partake in these, I need to move dining, which of corse is now not available

So is there a rational explanation on why dining is open so much further in dance then other WDW trip milestones?

and for the record, Im a wdw veteran, DVC member, AP holder...yada yada.....been there done that many times......its just a question that always vexed me.

I have no idea what the rationale is, but, I agree, it does put a kink in planning. I, for one, wouldn't mind that date being moved closer to the FP+ date so one has a better idea of park hours, special events, FP+ availability, etc. I'm working on a November itinerary right now and we'd like to attend the Frozen Dessert Party in EP but dates have not been released yet, so I have two days during our trip where I'm just guessing where we will be and where we will eat. If that party is ever released, I will probably be moving things around and hoping I don't have to sacrifice any reservations I've already made to make it work.

I don't understand it either, this is so early and mess it up all planning sometimes when you're getting close to the trip and Disney changes schedules.
For me it should be 60-90 days for ADR and 30-45 days for Fastpass+

Wasn't it 90 days at some point? I know it was pre-2010, but I could have sworn it was switched to 180 around 2008 or 2009 due to the growing demands for table service dining with the advent of the dining plan and the popularity of free dining offers. i.e. people cried out for more time to plan if they were going to buy into these add on's or special offers.