Where do you put your money once you hit the 401K max. contribution limit?

Frwinkley

DIS Veteran
I'm looking for options that provide the best tax breaks. Any others beside IRAs? I'm looking for something that will allow us to deduct more than the limits that IRAs provide. Our adjusted gross income allows for the IRA deduction at this point, but in the near future, our income will exceed this.

I am a teacher, so I already contribute to my state's pension plan. We max out my husband's 401K through his employer. My school district offers a 403(b), but plan participation is limited to the financial company that the school district has an arrangement with.

Avoid the 403(b). They come with high fees, at least typically, and do not company match like 401(k)'s. Max out either an IRA or Roth IRA with Vanguard. Easy to do and they have the lowest fees. Their age based index funds offer a good mix of stock and bond indexes.

Also, the limit on IRAs is based on your AGI, which with mortgage payments, education costs, property taxes, and charitable contributions, can keep you well away from that taxable line.

Avoid the 403(b). They come with high fees, at least typically, and do not company match like 401(k)'s. Max out either an IRA or Roth IRA with Vanguard. Easy to do and they have the lowest fees. Their age based index funds offer a good mix of stock and bond indexes.

Also, the limit on IRAs is based on your AGI, which with mortgage payments, education costs, property taxes, and charitable contributions, can keep you well away from that taxable line.

How do you know that the 403(b) has high fees? My 457 is basically the same thing as a 403(b) offers index funds with 0.03% annual management fees. I agree with you on avoiding the 403(b) if they are trying to charge you annual fees in excess of 0.30% per year.

I am in this situation and am less than 2 years from retirement. My advisor at Fidelity suggested to put it in the bank in a CD or money market.