What's your best advice for Disney World Newbies?

spideymike

Mouseketeer
In my day job I'm a librarian and this week I'll be presenting a program for patrons who would like to know how to plan a trip to Disney World. I'm running the program with a co-worker of mine who is equally a big Disney geek as I am.

My question to you all is - what advice would YOU give to someone who has never been to WDW? We both have our own ideas - basic tips on rope drop, sunscreen, booking FP+ in advance, etc. Just curious what you would also recommend newbies know about traveling to WDW?

Thanks!
Mike

My main tips: Be prepared, but don't overplan. Don't focus so much on how many rides you can do in one day, but look at the bigger picture. Take in the sights, take time to relax. And the big one: No matter what you do, you will not see everything, so don't even try.

This! Have a plan, but be flexible. Have realistic goals based on the attending party.

My question to you all is - what advice would YOU give to someone who has never been to WDW? We both have our own ideas - basic tips on rope drop, sunscreen, booking FP+ in advance, etc. Just curious what you would also recommend newbies know about traveling to WDW?

Thanks!
Mike

I would probably mention FP+ and perhaps sunscreen (though that's not really WDW specific), but I wouldn't go into rope drop, etc...those are things that may or may not be helpful or useful for a newbie. For example, we never rope drop, we think it's a waste of sleep. Nor would I go into detail about planning. We don't plan much for our WDW trips, and even when we were rookies, we didn't. It's not our style. So if I were a newbie, and was told I need to get up at 6am and plan every day, it would scare me off.