Uncomfortable going through outside travel agency (update)

jaw62901

Mouseketeer
Thanks to everyone who responded to this post. Please click on the following thread to see what my final reservations look like:

http://disboards.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=350741

With this being my first big trip, is is strange that someone would not feel comfortable going through an outside agaency such as Dreams Unlimited, but comfortable making a reservation directly through Disney.

I guess I just don't want anything to go wrong, and Disney is part of Americana and I guess I just trust them more. I sent an e-mail to DU explaining that they did a great job with my reservation, and that they didn't do anything wrong, but that with this being my first trip, I felt more comfortable going directly through Disney.

I just made my reservation through Disney and for the same package, it ended up being $54 cheaper

What do you all think.

I am a travel agent, I book everything thru Disney directly for my clients and my own trips. I have always priced others in the past before booking and found Disney the cheapest, and most reliable and most informative. Since you are booking directly thru Disney, your rooms are booked immediately, not 2 weeks before your time of arrival. When you book thru a travel agency, they ususlly go thru a touring/package. You pay them, they pay the touring company, you may have certain room requests which you have paid in full for 1 1/2 months prior to arrival - the touring company does not book your rooms until 2 weeks to 5 days prior to your arrival. The people that may have the same room requests as you that book directly thru Disney, have that room request locked in from reservation time. There is no middle man (tour operator) so you save money (in most cases) going directly thru Disney. This may be true with Disney, but with other vacation destinations, going thru a TA can save you a lot of money. Since TA's get paid from the resort, not the customer, it