Time is not fair. Part 3.

Hiddenhearth

Earning My Ears
I am glad to see that some of you are enjoying my ramblings. Since some of you asked for it, I shall ramble more.

Before that, I shall respond to some of your questions. First to Pam. I should not have mentioned about that thing you call mysterious. Not fair of me. Let me just say that I am a Docking Pilot in New York Harbor. I get aboard incoming ships in the harbor and bring them to the dock, or, of course, I get aboard ships at the docks and maneuver them out into the Upper Bay.

I happen to do this because I have always loved being on the water and always loved maneuvering things that float, from little boats to big ships. One of my dreams was to cruise on the Magic, since I'd read about her and seen artists' illustrations of her - in trade publications - long before she was built. Finally aboard her last week, I was up before dawn, three times, to watch the dockings at St. Maarten, St. Thomas, and Castaway Cay. Busman's holiday?? You betcha, and I loved it.

Before our trip, I wrote to Captain Henry, introducing myself on paper. Out of professional courtesy, during the middle of the week, he invited me and my family to - well...let me just say, we all got together for a little chat. Captain Henry is upstanding, gracious, professional. He backed that 964-ft ship like one puts the car in the garage. And did you know that he was part of the design team for the Magic. Disney always seems to pick the best, and Captain Henry is no exception. Anyway, it was most kind of him to invite us to our intimate gathering. My family was thrilled by the honor. And, my 11 y/o got to do something really, really cool...

Luvtogo: no, didn't go parasailing. I suggested this to my 82 y/o mother (who grew up in Manhattan, and didn't even ride a bike until I was about 8, when I saw her ride it into the flower garden), but, not surprisingly, she didn't take me seriously.