Spring break - we're not in college anymore Toto - Feb 2018 TR

docsoliday1

DIS Dad #834 Cubs, Dolphins fan forever
I've never done a TR or a PTR before, but I've been inspired by the wonderful TR writers (@Captain_Oblivious, @Steppesister, @ariane37, @afwdwfan and @pkondz to name a few[Please do not be offended if you're not listed...this is far and away not an all-inclusive list]). I'm hoping this can be interesting or of help to someone, but I'm not a great photographer, so you have been warned.

WHO?
Me: 53yo (hence the way past college days title)
DW: 29+ :rotfl2: Thanks Andy!
DD: 17

WHAT?
Trip to Disney. Duh!

WHERE?
From Atlanta to... (thanks to @pkondz for pointing out I forgot this point initially)
Beach Club Villas (1 day)
Board Walk Villas (3 days)
Sheraton Vistana Resort Villas (2 days)

WHEN?
February 18th-22nd (maybe 24th), 2018

HOW?
Well, this is a bit of a comical story and/or screwup on my part. We've been DVC members since 2008 and although I'm very good at math, I cannot, for the life of me, seem to get the use year and banking deadline straight.

A little background to explain my screwup... We have to arrange our trips around when the kids (well just 1 kid now) are out of school. The schedule for Atlanta area schools have almost no summer break now, but have multiple 1 week breaks spread throughout the year. February was a break this year (2017) and will be again next year, so, we went to AKL in February and I thought I had used all our points and borrowed from next year.

I logged into my account to start planning for next year and looked at my points. I had a message that both concerned and surprised me. The message was you've past your banking window or something similar to that. I was like whaaa??? What points? Well, my December use year points that I thought I'd used up of course. So, since I was past the banking window, I was confronted with two choices:
1) Book something
2) Lose the points