Our first WONDER-filled cruise!

bcwife76

DisneyMomma
So we just booked our first Disney cruise - in fact our first cruise ever (we usually book all inclusive resorts to Mexico!) Super excited!!

It's a 4 day repositioning cruise on the Wonder from Vancouver to San Diego - a good length, we thought, to get our cruise legs ;-) Plus our kids (who will be 4 & 7 at the time, we don't cruise til Sept 2015) will only miss a few days of school.

Will have so many questions I am sure; for now I was wondering about pool temperatures (weather I know, being a west coast gal). Are the pools heated on the Wonder? If we travel with carry on luggage only (for our flight home, we want to bring carry on only to avoid luggage fees and I'm a pro at travelling with carry on only on flights) does that mean we won't have to wait for our luggage to be brought to our cabin? How early can we board the ship if it leaves port at 4pm? how late can we stay on the ship our last day if it docks at 7:45am? TIA :):cool1:

Congrats - should be a good cruise! We were booked on the same itinerary a few years back but then I got pregnant and couldn't sail so we switched to an earlier Alaskan cruise. To answer your questions, the pools should be heated. In Alaska they were really warm - I forget the temp but it felt like a warm bath. The air on the other hand was quite chilly so no laying out by the pool. I remember watching my son swim - he was having a blast in the water while I was wearing mittens outside watching him. I'm guessing the Pacific Coast will be pretty chilly too.

I believe you can lug the carry-on with you on the ship but you will have to keep it with you until the room is ready which can be a pain. You could pack a smaller day bag and then just check the carry-on. We've never had to wait too long to get our luggage.

Your boarding time depends on your assigned port arrival time which you get when you check in online. The earliest times will probably be 11 ish.