Job interview... feeling nervous!- UPDATE post 1

leebee

DIS Veteran
Guess what?? I GOT THE JOB!!! party:
I was so worried that my age (61) and being so "out of the loop" scientifically would go against me!

Original Post: I have a job interview in a few hours and I'm starting to get nervous. First of all, it's a Skype interview. I've never used Skype before, so I'm a bit anxious about it. The IT guy at work set up Skype for me so I know it works, and a friend has practiced a bit with me, but I'm still a bit nervous about it. Then there's the job itself. The position is as a lab manager for an academic chemistry lab (organizing/managing the labs and TAs for the organic chemistry program). I have lots of experience in managing labs, so not as worried about that, but there may be a teaching component. I haven't worked in science in over 10 years, and before that the majority of my experience was in biochemistry and molecular biology. I haven't taken a chem course in 30 years! I know I can handle the lab manager part, but the possibility of being a lab TA has my stomach churning. I guess if they are offering me the interview, they must feel I'm capable of handling the position; they have my CV, transcripts, and references, after all. Oh well, we'll see... just wish I wasn't feeling so nervous/anxious!

Last edited:
If you have an interview, that means you're already qualified for the job. They wouldn't bother interviewing you if you weren't. Interviews are more like personality tests, to see if they could see you fitting within their team.

Just be confident!! And smile! You'll rock this!

Congrats on landing the interview, leebee! You'll do great. The job sounds fantastic. I hope you get it! I agree with the others. If they are bothering to set up a Skype interview with you, they're already interested. Breathe, smile, and relax. Since you still have time before the interview, maybe have a cup of tea or go for a walk to calm your nerves?