Is this a good idea?

lovethesun12

DIS Veteran
Disclaimer: I am totally new to the idea of DVC and have been doing a lot of research before purchasing. Right now I really have no idea what I'm doing so feel free to be very critical =D

DH & I are currently planning to buy DVC resale in 3-4 years time (we do have enough to do it now but it would deplete our savings for what we want and we aren't interested in financing. We could forego our vacation to do it but really that's just ridiculous :)).

We currently go once a year during Easter (past two years and are booked this year). We need about 150 points per year for the vacation we want. We also know our holidays in advance and can book 11 months out.

This Easter we are booked and renting points which cost us ~$2600. So for the next three vacations $7800. I'm thinking it would be so much better if this money went against our own DVC.

While we don't want to purchase the full 150 points at our home resort at the moment, we could afford 50 points per year for the next three years (if it happened to be available).

*If* I found a "fully loaded" (I think that's the name?) 50pt contract with 2018, 2019, and 2020 points (so this would be in the new year) could I use all 3 years points to book our resort next year (i.e 2019 Easter vacation)?

Then the following year, look for a similar contract, do the same thing. And again the year after that.

If all three contracts were from the same resort, would they basically combine (if similar use years)? Even if they were at different resorts I would be ok with that. I am good with all things Disney :)

I'm thinking if I started looking now, I would have to look for a contract with a use year in either April, May, June or July so points would renew as soon as our trip was over and I could book again.