Is renting DVC points a good deal?

msvlg

Mouseketeer
Is renting DVC points a good deal for a large family?We will be traveling to Disney again in April 2010 with 7 adults and 2 children (age 7) . How does that work? I'm trying to decide if it would be more cost effective to rent dvc points maybe a 2 bedroom villa and a studio or a three bedroom villa or just book three separate rooms a a moderate like Coronado Springs. We do not want to stay at a value. I have never rented points before after reading up on the villas Beachclub or OKW both sound nice. What are the advantages of renting points as I have never done this before.any advice would be greatly appreciated.

We love renting points. This past may we stayed in a two bedroom all together one night with 7 adults and one child, it was kind of cramped, but since it was a weekend night we wanted to save a little extra money and not get the studio until the next day. We had a studio and a two bedroom for the rest of the trip. They were right across the hall from each other, so it was nice that we weren't far away. When we originally planned to go, my dad got a price quote from our travel agent for 3 rooms at a value for the length of our trip, renting points was actually the same price for the trip as staying at the value would have been. Depending on how far in advance you plan, I would try and get a Grand Villa at OKW, otherwise get a two bedroom and a studio. It was nice that everyone had their own space after our first night.

We have done it twice now and are looking at it again for December. I think it is an amazing deal! You get to stay deluxe for a fraction of the price. If you want to see your savings just go to Disney's website and put the same room type in and see what price you come up with.

The advantage is the cost savings. The disadvantage is the savings is good on stays Sunday through Thursday night, points go way up on Friday and Saturday on DVC stays therefore so does your cost.