Help with Scrappers

jazzyfizzle

Earning My Ears
Hi all!

I'm pretty new at pin trading, and I heard Instagram trading is actually a pretty big thing. I bought some pins and i think they might be scrappers...can someone take a look at them? Pic's to compare would also be appreciated so I can see what reals ones look like! Thank you so much in advance.

The top pin (the rainbow Mickey) is most likely a scrapper because the paint is not smooth and flat. From the picture, it looks like the red, orange, and yellow stripes within the ear are indented, which is usually a sign of a scrapper. You can find a photo at pinpics.com.

Nothing about the cupcake pins jump out at me as being obviously scrappers from the photos. The colors look a little darker than the images in pinpics.com, but that could be due to the camera lighting and/or photo processing.
Goofy: http://www.pinpics.com/pinMT.php?pin=82951&pinno=82951&keyw=
Minnie: http://www.pinpics.com/pinMT.php?pin=82949&pinno=82949&keyw=
Pluto: http://www.pinpics.com/pinMT.php?pin=82952&pinno=82952&keyw=

Judging for the back of the pins I'd say the Cupcake Goofy and Cupcake Ploto are fake.

Cut and paste from ****************.com

The edges of a pin can tell a person a lot. Fake pins often have rough cut edges that are caused by the quick work and shoddy workmanship put into each pin. A fake may also be a bit too thin, and feel too light. Obviously each pin’s weight varies from pin to pin based on size, but if one large pin clearly weighs less than a smaller, less exciting pin, it’s probably fake.