ECV Newbie - Offsite Rental Questions

jasmine82998

Earning My Ears
Hi everyone! I'm new to the DIS boards and especially DISabilities, but I've been poring over the forums looking for answers to my questions. I hope some of you can help:)

My husband and I have been going to WDW for 20 years, we went for our honeymoon and have another trip planned in July to celebrate our anniversary. We are taking our 3 kids, ranging in age from 9 to 17 years. He has RA and Lupus and so for the first time, we'll be renting an ECV. We're staying at CBR and I understand that with the construction, it's not possible to walk to the Custom House, so it may be really inconvenient to try to meet a vendor there. I'd love to hear thoughts on this. I'm also looking for recent reviews and recommendations on Buena Vista, Randy's, Scooterbug, Best Price, and any other vendors you guys care to comment on. Has anybody heard of/used Gold Mobility?

In addition to just general customer service and scooter condition from the companies, my husband is nervous about operating one of these in the parks and likes the idea of getting some instruction from a vendor like Randy's, I've read that they come out and show you how to operate. However, I know that Buena Vista is popular (although not the cheapest) and that they can drop off with Bell Services, along with Scooterbug and Best Price. I'm trying to figure out the other differences.

For example, I'm confused about what limitations a non-featured Disney provider has if something malfunctions while we're in the parks? Would we have to get it to the entrance? (I assume featured providers would come to us wherever we are? Any experience with this?)

Maybe we're worrying about this way too much, but of course we want to be proactive about this and try to avoid any problems. I think having the ECV will make all of us much happier.

I really appreciate any insights and recent experiences you all can share. TIA!