Chase Sapphire Preferred

Princess Minnie321

Mouseketeer
I am new to buying airfare with points. Last year we opened the venture capital for the sign up bonus reward and then did purchase eraser when buying the airfare so it was easy and no risk. We ended up flying southwest due to a much better price then jet blue.

This year we have the chase sapphire preferred and again we chose it for the sign on bonus. We met the requirement so between the bonus and charging everything since we got the card, we have 75,000 points. I am looking to go to Disney in April and hoping to get a decent price on south west for my family of 4. What would be my best option to maximize rewards?

1. Transfer my points at 1:1 to southwest. Risk is bad flight times and then my rewards are in southwest so forced to buy with them.

2. Leave the rewards with chase so if southwest does not work out, we can buy from another airline. Then use the rewards as a statement credit.

I am planning to be up at 6am the day southwest opens our dates. Thank you for the advice!

the good thing about transferring to SWA is it's fast! (it has in my experience) like instant. so that might be enough time for you to look at schedule, then decide to transfer as needed. Or there are other airlines thru the portal too it needed.

That is good to know it is fast to tranfer! I was waiting for my points to post with this past statement and southwest is opening my dates in 2 weeks.

I feel it is higher to book on the portal at least for flights I was looking at. I had the JetBlue sight and chase both opened at the same time and chase was listing the JetBlue as almost double what was listed on JetBlue' website for the exact same flight.

I only fly SW! Easy too change schedules if needed, no bag fees, etc.
Can you please tell me more about the Chase Sapphire Preferred? I have excellent credit, but the $450 annual fee scares me.

I only fly SW! Easy too change schedules if needed, no bag fees, etc.