• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Click Here

Canon Digital Rebel Operation question

willis37862

<font color=navy>Captain Jack is still my fave JD
I recently purchased a Canon EOS Digital Rebel xt camera. I am still trying to learn all the functions. I have noticed though that the metering/exposure is all over the place. I am not a beginner. I have been working with slr cameras for years and never in the manual mode. I enjoy working with the different settings to get different effects.

So my question is does anyone else have exposure problems? Have you found anything special that makes it work better? Also what settings have you found best for night/fireworks shots?

Thank you to anyone who has some advice/tips. :goodvibes

I'm a Nikon guy myself so I haven't had much experience with the Canon but it almost sounds like your spot meter is tripping out. Does the Rebel XT have a setting where the exposure is connected to the focusing area that is causing a misread? Or has the bracket setting been enabled? Hopefully another Canon owner can chime in with suggestions too.

Jeff

AZ JazzyJ said:
I'm a Nikon guy myself so I haven't had much experience with the Canon but it almost sounds like your spot meter is tripping out. Does the Rebel XT have a setting where the exposure is connected to the focusing area that is causing a misread? Or has the bracket setting been enabled? Hopefully another Canon owner can chime in with suggestions too.

Jeff

Not sure about the exposure connected to focusing area. I know the bracketing hasn't been enabled, checked that. It has the three metering modes to pick from. Tried all three still get crazy exposure settings. It wants to overexpose and wash out backgrounds. It sets the shutter speed low , which is driving me nuts. Thanks for the suggestions though.