Any former cops with alcoholism, ptsd and depression?

smmcgarry

Mouseketeer
I've been to Disney countless times. I'm a new annual pass holder from Florida (just moved here).

I was a cop for 10 years up north and suffer from depression, anxiety and PTSD. I was almost killed twice. My wife just left me after 11 years and took both of my dogs. Anyone in the same boat? My sadness is growing and growing and causing pain in my chest, back, shoulders, etc.

I've been to Disney countless times. I'm a new annual pass holder from Florida (just moved here).

I was a cop for 10 years up north and suffer from depression, anxiety and PTSD. I was almost killed twice. My wife just left me after 11 years and took both of my dogs. Anyone in the same boat? My sadness is growing and growing and causing pain in my chest, back, shoulders, etc.

I've never experienced the same things you have, but I wanted to post and first, welcome you, and second, offer a :hug:. I'm a single mom, and I've suffered from depression for most of my life. My daughter has autism and bipolar disorder. So we've had our struggles. I can't even begin to imagine the things you have been through as a cop. I'd say the most important thing after a move is to establish a network of support. Have you seen a doctor about your depression, anxiety, and PTSD? Are there sports or other activities that you enjoy and could seek out others with the same interests? Certainly, you've come to the right message board to share in love of Disney :earsboy:. What about adopting a new dog? Volunteer at an animal shelter? Try other volunteer activities?

Take care of yourself!

@smmcgarry Although I have never walked in your shoes, I do know what it is like to live with depression.

Depression can, and often does, manifest in physical symptoms like you have described. I agree with @Maggie'sMom that perhaps finding a local doctor you can work with about managing your depression and PTSD would be a good solid first step to take.