A WDW Christmas trip, and the BEST Christmas gift I've ever received (completed)

MeghanEmily

DIS Veteran
Hoping for some readers for my very first Disney World trip report! I’ve read many a trip report since joining the DIS to get my “fix” leading up to this trip, and then we had such an AMAZING couple’s trip this Christmas that I just felt I needed to share.

So the title of the report gives some vague hints…but let’s just say for now that this Christmas trip held some unbelievable memories and a few surprises…some bigger than others…

I’ve never written a trip report before, but I’ve got lots of notes and photos to go from, so please be patient with me while I figure out the way the boards work.

Here we go!!

tv5f6kC.jpg

How this trip came about: a couple’s trip for myself and my partner, Nathan, two Canadian millennials who love Disney. We went to The World for the first time as a couple in April/May 2016 (Nathan’s first Disney trip EVER, 6 nights at POP, did MK, AK, HS, Epcot, DS, and BB), and he fell so in love with it that he had to return ASAP. We booked for Christmas since it worked for our work/school schedules, but fully aware of what to expect in terms of crowds/variable temperatures, etc. As a gift to ourselves (mostly to me, a self-professed giraffe-fanatic) we splurged on a savannah view room at AKL, and my life was made.

The WHO:

pykbd7R.jpg

Meghan (Me!)
  • Slowly on the way to becoming a Disney World veteran (approx. a dozen trips in 23 years of life) but only been the primary planner for two trips.
  • Lover of all things Disney/Pixar
  • Difficult traveller—has dietary restrictions, and a brain condition that causes motion sickness and restrictions on some more intense rides. (Last trip in April 2016 was a celebration of my two-year “Brainniversary,” i.e. completing my neurosurgery recovery period.)
  • Struggles to walk the line between nerd/intellectual and GIANT SILLY CHILD.

Nathan (“N” from here on out.)